Key Lime Cake!

21129_10200440111258733_509557087_n

I was a big fan of this one. Made it for our friends’ birthday dinner. I searched a lot online for a recipe that sounded right to me and finally settled on this one from “Alaska from Scratch“.

Ingredients (see source for specifics):

  • cake flour
  • baking powder
  • baking soda
  • salt
  • butter, lightly softened
  • sugar
  • eggs
  • fresh key lime juice (easier said than done without a juicer/squeezer. I may have squeezed the shit out of a few limes manually).
  • key lime zest
  • green food coloring gel (I used Wilton Leaf Green)
  • buttermilk

I’ll skip the instructions which can be found from the source, but it was relatively straightforward. I used a generic cream cheese frosting recipe online vs. the one at the source blog, and frosted only the top with the sides visible. Then I cut a few lime slices and twisted them as decoration. It was DELICIOUS and pretty. Win/Win.

Leave a Reply

