Cheddar Beer Bread

IMG_6147

Pinterest has been rife with beer bread recipes as have my FB friends been posting about many lately so I had to try it, especially since I enjoy my baking with the littles but they needed a little less sugar last week. Enter: Cheddar Beer Bread!!!!

Recipe from Food.com.

Ingredients:

IMG_6139

2 1/2 cups plain flour
1 tablespoon baking powder
2 tablespoons sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
1 1/2 teaspoons dried sage
1 (12 ounce) can beer (I used Sam Adams)
1 cup shredded cheddar cheese (I may have been a bit more generous and probably was more like 1 1/4 cup, plus extra for topping).

SUPER easy to make. I didn’t even need to use the mixer.

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 375
  • Grease and flour 9 inch loaf pan.

IMG_6140

  • Mix all dry ingredients, stir in beer and cheese until well blended.

IMG_6141

  • Spread evenly in pan. I also sprinkled an extra handful of cheese on top.

IMG_6144

  • Bake 50 to 55 minutes. My oven is usually slow but mine was ready after the prescribed time.
  • Cool 10 minutes.

IMG_6145

This was SUPER yummy. Just the mildest beer taste (light enough the kids liked it), a tiny bit sweet from the sugar, delicious with butter. Big fan. Will make again but may try another recipe with even more cheese (I like cheese).

IMG_6217
Leave a Reply

