Cake Batter Truffles

Got this recipe from Elise Bakes and was going to file away for some future date, but the 3 year old dictator in our home was demanding a Christmas Party to use the candles that he’d been carrying around in a bag for a week, so we modified to New Year’s Party and decided to have a little celebration of 2013’s birth.

IMG_4746

Recipe as follows:

Ingredients:

IMG_4695

  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • 1 cup yellow cake mix, dry
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 3-5 Tbsp milk
  • 2 Tbsp sprinkles
  • 16 oz white candy melts or vanilla chips [I strongly recommend the latter … see below.]

Instructions:

  1. Beat butter and sugar until combined.

IMG_4697

  1. Add flour, cake mix, vanilla, and salt and beat until combined throughout.

IMG_4699

  1. Add milk by the tablespoon until you reach a dough consistency (Elise said she usually ends up using just 3 tbsp, I think I actually used close to 4.5).  The dough will be sort of crumbly, but you should still be able to form balls out of it.
  2. Mix in sprinkles and form balls out of the dough.

IMG_4734

  1. Chill balls in the freezer for 15 minutes or so.
  2. Melt candy melts according to package directions and using two forks, dip the balls in the melts.  Let harden before moving.

Yeah, so that last step there is where it gets interesting. I started with Candiquick and melted according to package instructions. It seemed like it was getting too thick so I tried to reheat it. Still didn’t work, got thicker, kept trying, etc. and here’s where we ended up:

IMG_4735

Not so much. I guess I overheated and burned it. Classy. Luckily I had a bag of the Hobby Lobby vanilla melts in the cabinet so I used those next and did better. Only issues was it was still thicker than I pictured and hard to smoothly roll the balls in it to get evenly coated. Plus they dried FAST so half were dry before I could sprinkle them so I had to add a bit in top to use the sprinkles. The two different candy melt options explain the color disparity here too, ivory (vanilla melts) v. white (candiquick).

IMG_4744

P.S. – We MAY have had a three year old running around the kitchen yelling “I wanna dip my balls in it” at some point in the course of making these. I plead the fifth.

2 thoughts on “Cake Batter Truffles

  1. So glad you liked them! I hate candy melt mishaps – what a pain! Mine always dry quickly too, I usually sprinkle each one right after I dip it. I learned the hard way last time by asking my husband to sprinkle for me…didn’t know it was possible to sprinkle wrong but they looked so goofy. 🙂

  2. Hi there! These truffles sound awesome. Love cake batter…
    But oh no…looks like one very burnt tray of Candiquik! 😦
    We’d love for you to try it again…I know you’d love the ease of using it – it doesn’t dry too fast, has a very nice, thin consistency and tastes a lot better than candy discs, barks, etc. Feel free to email me and I’d love to get in touch!

Leave a Reply

