Chocolate Cupcakes with Eggnog buttercream frosting

IMG_4399

Yum. Cupcakes were the tried and true Hershey’s recipe I made with peppermint buttercream last time.

Eggnog frosting was arrived upon after googling many minutes to find the ideal one. I went with the highest eggnog ratio I found which meant (A) Delicious with a strong eggnog taste but (B) much wetter than I prefer my buttercream (even after adding much more powdered sugar in an attempt to counteract.

The one I decided upon was based mostly on this recipe from Kitschy Girl’s Cupcakes

2 sticks of butter
4 cups powdered sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 cup eggnog
I probably ended up with about 3/4 cup eggnog and at least 5- 5 1/2 cups of powdered sugar. Beat together and frost cupcakes. I loved them as did my husband and sister in law. 4.5 year old nephew not so much. He took a bite, sat there silently looking like he wanted to cry until his mom offered him a napkin to spit it in. Such a compliment, LOL.
And I got to use my super cute cupcake holder/transporter!
IMG_4407

.

 

One thought on “Chocolate Cupcakes with Eggnog buttercream frosting

Leave a Reply

