Hanukkah Cookies

After the neverending saga of trying to find Hanukkah cookie cutters in a very non-Jewish area, Crate & Barrel came through!

Used the first sugar cookie recipe that came up via google on the way home from the mall, from Allrecipes.com. I halved it (amounts below already reflect my halving) because I didn’t want a house full of cookies (and still only used about half the dough and froze the rest).

  • 3/4 cups butter, softened
  • 1 cups white sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  •  2.5 cups all-purpose flour
  •  1 teaspoons baking powder
  •   1/2 teaspoon salt
  1. In a large bowl, cream together butter and sugar until smooth. Beat in eggs and vanilla. Stir in the flour, baking powder, and salt. Cover, and chill dough for at least one hour (or overnight).
  2. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F (200 degrees C). Roll out dough on floured surface 1/4 to 1/2 inch thick. Cut into shapes with any cookie cutter. Place cookies 1 inch apart on ungreased cookie sheets. I know I am becoming a more adept baker when this recipe didn’t scare me and I had no real mishaps in rolling out the dough…

IMG_4083

Bake 6 to 8 minutes in preheated oven. Cool completely. Except, did you know you can’t actually put wax paper in the oven? After they’d been cooking about 2 minutes I was all “What is that smell?” Luckily we did quick damage control, removed them and transferred to sprayed cookie sheets and other than a couple of too hastily moved broken cookies, they were no worse for the wear.

I got a wire cooling rack which helps a lot! Then the fun part = decorating!

I made buttercream for decorating. Recipe from savorysweetlife. I halved it so just 1 stick softened butter (I microwaved it against the recipe’s instructions and it was fine), 2 cups powdered sugar, 1/8 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp almond extract (I used almond instead of vanilla and it was DELICIOUS!!!!!) and 1 tbsp of milk (I wanted a thicker frosting). Beat butter, add sugar and beat some more, add the rest until desired consistency. Then I used gel food coloring for blue/yellow Hanukkah colors.

IMG_4087

And the final product. I would blame their awfulness on a 3 year old helping decorate, except these are the ones I did! LOL.

IMG_4111

Leave a Reply

