Banana Nutella Bread

I know you’re thinking ZOMGThissoundsamazingIneedtomakeitrightnow!!!!!

Yeah, it was good, but something wasn’t as great as I expected.

Recipe from Lemons and Anchovies. I won’t include the exact ingredients/instructions so you have to go to the original site to make this and I don’t steal her traffic (you know, all 2 people that read this).

Igredients(es)

  • Typical baking crap (aka flour, sugar, baking soda, salt, butter, vanilla)
  • slivered almonds (that I didn’t use)
  • Nutella (heated for about 30 seconds in the microwave to make it more spreadable, and I used more than what the recipe called for)
  • very ripe, soft, darkly-speckled bananas, mashed (grosses me out to even touch dark/mushy bananas)
  • plain yogurt
  • 2 large eggs

So, instructions, condensed, are to:

Preheat oven to 350º F. Grease 4 mini loaf pans or a 9 x 5 inch loaf pan (I used the single) and dust with flour, tapping out the excess

Whisk dry ingredients together

Mash bananas with the creepy/friendly little masher friend my mom may or may not have bought from a homeless person (I assume most unique gifts she gives me are from some such source).

IMG_4075

Mix the mashed bananas with yogurt, eggs, butter and vanilla with a wooden spoon and fold  into the dry mixture until just combined and the batter looks thick and chunky.

Measure out the Nutella in a small bowl and heat in the microwave for 30-35 seconds, just until it’s softened and stir together until it’s the texture of frosting. Stir the Nutella into the batter being careful not to completely incorporate the two together. You want a swirled pattern here.

IMG_4077

Mmmm, Nutella.

Transfer batter into the greased and dusted loaf pan(s). Or to your tongue.

IMG_4079

IMG_4082

Bake until the loaf is golden brown and a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. It will take 25-30 minutes if you use mini loaf pans like I did or 50-55 minutes for a regular one. Cool in the pan for five minutes then transfer to a wire rack. This is great at room temperature or even straight out of the refrigerator.

IMG_4092

IMG_4093

So yeah, it looked beautiful and tasted good, but not as Nutella-y as I wanted. Just tasted like regular banana bread to me. I don’t know. I’d make it again still because it’s a nice novel idea for a gift or something, but not going to be my first choice.

Leave a Reply

