Cake Batter Rice Crispy Treats!!!

Ok, these turned out better than the prior post, and I actually made them while on bedrest in 5 minute increments on my feet.

The recipe was from another blog, which got it from yet ANOTHER blog.

Ingredients:

  • 3 Tbsp. butter
  • 1 (10 oz.) bag of mini-marshmallows
  • 1/4 cup yellow cake mix
  • 6 cups crispy rice cereal
  • 1 (1.75 oz.) container of sprinkles

Method:

Melt butter in a large saucepan over low heat and add marshmallows. Stir until they begin to melt, adding in cake mix one spoonful at a time so its combined. Stir in cereal so it is completely coated with marshmallow mixture. Sprinkle in half of the sprinkles and mix. Press into a baking dish (any size will do) and top with remaining sprinkles.

Let sit for about 30 minutes before cutting. I [read: whoever wrote this recipe from the blog where I copied it] find spraying a knife with nonstick spray helps to cut them.

As pretty much every blog I found this on advised, I added more than the specified amount of cake batter to my mix to give it more cakey oomph. I may have had as much as 1/2 a cup. I still didn’t think it all tasted that cake batter-y. Certain pieces did, but others didn’t. Next time I might use pink mix so I can see how evenly dispersed it is. I would also use a smaller dish so the bars were thicker. But overall very happy!

One thought on “Cake Batter Rice Crispy Treats!!!

  1. I am making a rather long grocery store shopping list from your blog today. Everything looks great. I really can’t wait to try these! Cake batter and rice crispy treats combined has to = yummy!

Leave a Reply

