Peanut Butter Blobs

Yeah, we haven’t fixed the oven yet. Hence the continuing hiatus. But, we made no bake goodies this weekend to share.

In elementary school they used to sell what we called “Peanut Butter Blobs” after lunch for ten cents a pop. They were awesome. As an adult I fondly remembered them and considered trying to make them but wasn’t sure what was included – obviously peanut butter, and I guessed powdered sugar must have been in them to cut down the stickiness, and then I knew that there were rice krispies and chocolate chips, but I figured there had to be more to it than that and I wasn’t going to try and figure it out myself.

Well, a friend of mine tracked down the recipe from a lunch lady there and gave it to me – turns out, all I was missing was butter. Yep, these things are pretty much pure fat. Awesome.

2 cups creamy peanut butter (FYI, a jar is just under 2 cups; we used reduced fat and it didn’t seem to mess anything up)
1 1/2 cups butter (softened) (this is 3 sticks. Yeah, that’s a LOT of butter).
3 cups powdered sugar
5 cups rice krispies
1 cup mini chocolate chips

Cream peanut butter, butter and powdered sugar together.

(I tried to coat the peanut butter with powdered sugar so that I didn’t end up putting the mixer directly into peanut butter which seemed like a bad idea).
(Per my usual method, I microwaved the butter to achieved “softened” status.)
On low speed, mix in rice krispies & choc. chips.
Place on a cookie sheet using an ice cream scooper and pop the entire sheet in the freezer. When frozen, place in a zip lock bag and keep in the freezer. Take out as needed.
So…I think I misread the recipe as I didn’t use the mixer past the first step and my arm was killing me from mixing peanut butter by hand to get the rice krispies and chocolate chips mixed in evenly. And when I was using the mixer on the first step, the cord fell in the bowl and got coated in goo. Otherwise, this is pretty fool proof since it’s no bake.
We did get a rousing endorsement from our little dude, who not only licked a beater clean, but also kept demanding “more, more” as we spooned them out and probably ate about 5 spoonfuls. That’s healthy.
(I usually don’t post pics of him publicly on the internet but I don’t think anyone reads this except people who have access to my private blog anyways, lol).
16 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Blobs

  1. Yum these look so good! I’m drooling sitting at my desk, I can’t wait to make them this weekend, I don’t know if I’ll be able to wait that long!

    I love this blog and I look forward to reading it! Thanks for sharing.

    Sommer (jsc143 -SB)

  2. …..Another amazing peanut butter and chocolate combination for you today! I decided to redo the classic peanut butter cup in a more sophisticated fashion by piping peanut butter mousse into homemade chocolate cups. Once the cups are made the rest is a breeze — whip up some cream fold in melted peanut butter cups and youve got yourself a fancy and delicious filling.

      • I was there from 1990-1995. In 4th grade they raised the price to .25 a blob.
        I remember my mother getting the recipe from the lunch lady and back then I remember her using condensed milk. I was trying to find the recipe for my kids and stumbled onto your blog. Such a small world.

      • Hey! I’m glad I read the comments. I went to Coventry Elementary in Crystal Lake too! I was there from 1992-1997 or so. It’s fun to see this. My wife and I were wondering what to make for dessert and I thought of peanut butter blobs. I’ve been meaning to make them for years.

  3. My sister and I lived in Illinois for a couple years as kids and always talked about these peanut butter blobs from the lunch room! We just made them and they are exaclty the ones!

  4. THANK YOU for this recipe! I went to Husmann in the early 90s and Peanut Butter Blobs were always the highlight of my day! 🙂 I cannot wait for my daughter to experience the goodness of Peanut Butter Blobs.

  5. Oh my gosh I’m so glad I found this! I was thinking these looked exactly like the ones at my elementary school, and then I read the comments!! I went to Canterbury in crystal lake so I’m sure the recipe is the same. Thank you so much for posting this!

  6. So glad I read the comments. I’m 25. I went to Indian Prarie in Crystal Lake and on a whim looked up this recipe. Thank you so much for posting this.

  7. Ha! This is hilarious! I went to Husmann/South Elementary from 93-99. I was thinking about making peanut butter blobs and googled it on a whim- did not expect to get the exact authentic lunch lady recipe from CL! Thank you! 😀

  8. Thank you for posting!! I couldn’t find this recipe anywhere. Recently pregnant and this has been a big craving, you’re a life saver!

Leave a Reply

