Sweet Potato Casserole

This one came from my mother in law. I made it last year for Thanksgiving and it’s my husband’s favorite so it’s officially becoming part of our holiday repertoire.

Ingredients:
about 4 lbs of sweet potatoes

1/3 cup of milk
1/4 cup sugar
about 1/2 cup butter
2 beaten eggs
1 tsp vanilla
Topping
1/4 cup butter melted
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/3 cup flour

1 cup chopped pecans (After a disastrous attempt at cutting up pecans myself last year, this year I decided to buy chopped nuts. Couldn’t find pecans so I got walnuts…to be honest, I’ve never really understand the distinction anyways).

(Word for word pasted from mother in law’s email): Boil and mash potatoes (first peel and cut into small pieces).

[I had a helper with the mashing…]

Mix in sugar butter, vanilla, milk and eggs.  I usually whip it up with a large fork.  The eggs will give it a souffle feel.  spread into a baking dish.

You can use your pyrex glass pan or your brown casserole (per instruction, I used the latter).  Sprinkle with topping mixture. Bake uncovered at 350 degrees for about 25 minutes.

Voila! I actually didn’t mess anything up with this one…in part because I’d done it before.

One thought on “Sweet Potato Casserole

Leave a Reply

