Pumpkin Pie

Classic. Simple. No way I can mess this up…and that ALMOST happened.

Used the classic Libby’s recipe:

Ingredients

  • 1 (9 inch) unbaked deep dish pie crust
  • 3/4 cup white sugar
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cloves
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 (15 ounce) can LIBBY’S® 100% Pure Pumpkin
  • 1 (12 fluid ounce) can NESTLE® CARNATION® Evaporated Milk (does anyone else hate when a recipe calls for something brand specific where the brand has no bearing on the recipe? Yeah, me too.)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees F.
  2. Combine sugar, salt, cinnamon, ginger and cloves in small bowl. Beat eggs lightly in large bowl. Stir in pumpkin and sugar-spice mixture. Gradually stir in evaporated milk. Pour into pie shell.
  3. Bake for 15 minutes. Reduce temperature to 350 degrees F.; bake for 40 to 50 minutes or until knife inserted near center comes out clean. Cool on wire rack for 2 hours. Serve immediately or refrigerate. (Do not freeze as this will cause the crust to separate from the filling.)

I like this recipe because it takes about 10 minutes max (pre-oven). Short enough that I can make it while my little monster eats breakfast in his highchair (which is what I did both times I made it).

I used my Ipod to refer back to the recipe because it was easier than my usual method of bringing the laptop to the kitchen and took up less counter space:

A pretty pic of my dry ingredients, pre-mixing…

Mixing the pumpkin with the liquid ingredients…

I had a game plan to avoid screwups since I had done a previous test run. See, the first time I made this, I overfilled the pie crust and in my attempt to transfer it to the oven spilled everywhere (with such a mess that I didn’t even think to photograph, the hubs and I were just trying to mop up pumpkin slop from all over the kitchen.

SO…this time, the crust went into the oven FIRST to avoid a messy transfer.

But we know what happens to the best laid plans:

The pie still turned out ok though!

Those weird blemishes were gone by the next day (Thanksgiving) when I served it too. Not the prettiest due to the burnt crust from where the filling spilled, but overall not bad, and it was delicious, not a sliver left!

Leave a Reply

