Chocolate Peanut Butter Quick Bread (Williams Sonoma)

This was an easy one since it was a mix with no decorating or the like required. I would link to the WS site but they don’t have it online.

Ingredients:

  • One package of bread mix
  • 2 eggs
  • 3/4 cup of water
  • 1 stick melted butter

Beyond that, instructions are to mix it all together, put it in a (8″x 4″) loaf pan and bake for 65-70 minutes. Our oven sucks so we had to bake for closer to 85 minutes.

This one should have been, and almost was, error free. Throwing some crap in a bowl and then spooning it into a pan isn’t rocket science, people. But never fear, I still jacked something up. Surprisingly, it wasn’t the butter. See, I have problems with any recipe that calls for butter in any form other than rock hard straight out of the fridge. This is mostly because I never have the foresight to take the butter out in advance and let it achieve the desired level of squish. Softened/room temperature butter is my baking nemesis. Melted, though? That I can do. I just popped it into a measuring cup and the whole system went into the microwave for a minute.

Voila!

I was pretty excited when I poured the batter out and saw that it was full of peanut butter chips. NICE! It looked even more delicious once everything else was mixed in. Shocking even myself, I did not eat any raw batter.

After almost an hour and a half it came out of the oven looking AMAZING.

Done right? Screwup free?

Not so fast there…

That happened when I tried to pop it out of the pan.Not sure if I didn’t use enough butter, if it wasn’t cool enough, who knows?

It still tasted good though, and check out the melted peanut butter chips! Success despite a messy exit strategy.

*P.S. – You may notice these pics are a bit nicer than my previous posts. Notwithstanding my declarations of point and shoot-ed-ness, sweet husband dropped a lovely new camera in my lap formy birthday. I’m just learning to use it though and still suck at baking so this shouldn’t have any bearing on the overall suckitude of this blog.

4 thoughts on “Chocolate Peanut Butter Quick Bread (Williams Sonoma)

  1. It is in reality a good and useful piece of info. I’m pleased that you simply simply shared this helpful information with us. Please keep us up to date like this. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Needed to place you a bit of remark so as to thank you more than again for the stunning guidelines you’ve shared in this case. It has been truly generous of individuals like you to create freely what numerous individuals would have offered for sale as an e book to help make some profit on their own, especially given that you simply might have carried out it within the event you considered necessary. These creative suggestions additionally served like a easy way to realize that many individuals have a similar interest the same as my personal own to figure out significantly much more in terms of this problem. I think there are some more pleasurable moments up front for individuals who find out your website.

Leave a Reply

