Inaugural Post – Betty Crocker Apple Crumble

[ETA – I understand there were issues with the pics, hopefully they’re fixed now. Sorry!]

Apple Crisp (from Betty Crocker – recipe at link, and reproduced below with my editorial comments):

Ingredients:

  • 6 medium tart cooking apples (Greening, Rome, Granny Smith), sliced (about 6 cups). I used honeycrisp, and 6 sliced seemed like a bit more than I needed actually.
  • 3/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1/2 cup quick cooking or old fashioned oats
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 1/3 cup cold butter or margarine (FYI, 1/3 cup isn’t specifically delineated on the stick so I had to use some fancy math to figure this out. I think I determined it was 2/3 of a stick but don’t quote me).
  • Cream or ice cream, if desired.
  1. Heat oven to 375.
  2. In medium bowl, mix brown sugar, flour, cinnamon, nutmeg and oats.
  3. Cut in butter, using pastry blender (is this different than a hand mixer? Whatever) (or pulling 2 table knives through butter in opposite directions), until mixture is crumbly. Sprinkle evenly over apples.
  4. Bake 35 to 40 minutes or until topping is golden brown and apples are tender when pierced with a fork. Server warm with cream or ice cream.

In keeping with my promise of easy as pie (or easy as apple crumble) recipes, this one came from this lovely little circular I picked up at the grocery store:

Well, actually, my 16 month old (hereinafter known as “Boops”) picked it up, put it in his mouth, and orchestrated a death grip on the thing that gave me no choice but to purchase it by having the cashier scan an alternate copy. After he paged through it daily for several days in the car he eventually dropped it to the floor and I picked it up and started perusing and decided to try some dishes.

A trip to ye olde Pumpkin Patch/orchard yielded these lovely honeycrisp apples:

 

…and we were off!

The recipe above sounds easy enough, right? Well, mere minutes into the process we had a cinnamon incident…


But I persevered. The next hurdle was the “cutting the butter in”…I don’t know what that means. I took it literally, and cut the butter into slices and dropped it into the dry ingredients. Then, at their instruction I pulled knives through in opposite directions. Rather than a nice crumbly topping, it resulted in this:

Yeah, that’s some dry ingredients smattered with big ol’ chunks of butter. Not so great. So I decided to quite literally take things into my own hands and kneaded, rolled and squeezed it all around until we actually had a crumbly like topping, which I sprinkled over the apples.

(Pre-baked).

The only problem with using my hands to achieve the desired consistency was that I wasn’t wearing an apron and absentmindedly wiped them off on my pants, a fact I didn’t realized until DH asked why I had hand prints on my ass. And yes, I let him photograph it because we are, of course, keeping it real. And yes, my ass is that large.

But once in the oven we had suitably fall like apple crisp deliciousness wafting in the air and the end result didn’t look too bad.

And the most rousing endorsement?

The Boops loved it! I call that a success!

Thanks for reading, if anyone is. And feel free to post questions, recommendations, requests for certain types of recipes, or anything else!

One thought on “Inaugural Post – Betty Crocker Apple Crumble

Leave a Reply

